Diary of a GLOSS Research Associate: Halfway point

20160622_121057By Wilky Ludenyi Kiyumbu

After successfully completing data collection, the next couple of weeks would see me spend more time with my laptop transcribing and analysing the data I had collected from the interviews that I’d done. Thanks to the information session we had before starting the research, I had an idea of the kind of work I would be expecting. I also had a Skype call with my supervisor who gave me insights of how I could go about the transcription part- this was particularly very useful. Even so, I still faced some challenges along the way.

First and foremost, I must admit that collecting data from the field is much more exciting than the transcription bit. Transcription requires a lot of discipline – something that this research is definitely helping me develop. Truthfully, I had underestimated the amount of dedication for this week and so was procrastinating quite a bit. We (the supervisor and I) chose to use the full transcription method which is basically writing down the interviews questions and responses word for word. We opted for this method as it is more objective in relaying the data collected from the field, and also better for purposes of data analysis in future. It would also be best in supporting and drawing reliable conclusions during the data analysis stage. As Dr Littlewood later explained, it would be a useful method for identifying key info from the responses of the interviewees. And of course, for future references, having the detailed answers would come in handy.

There were also issues that arose at the transcription and data analysis stage. For example, some of the recorded interviews were not clear at all which meant that I either missed out on the information that the interviewees gave or spending a lot more time trying to pick out what they had actually said. I can’t also tell you how many times I wished that there was a software that could pick up the recorded voice interviews and convert it to text! Having daily target of what I would like completed by a certain period helped in overcoming procrastination when it got frustrating. By mid week 5, I had a clear understanding why the supervisor has set aside at least 2 weeks for transcription and data analysis. Before, I just thought that I would need less time to do that. I now have a deeper appreciation of and respect for the quality of research work done by the university- so much work goes into it to make it top quality! I also know that I am better able to make wise judgements on the shape that my final year dissertation will take.

Once I get round to completing transcription- hopefully by end of this week- I will be starting on data analysis, report writing and making of the poster presentation.

Wilky is a BA Politics and Economics student. Her project is looking at The role of social innovation hubs in promoting social entrepreneurship in Kenya, and is supervised by Dr David Littlewood from Sheffield University Management School.

 

Leave a Reply

